Landscape design of catchment area perimeter – Dakar (Sénégal), 2013

The catchment area site occupies a key position that is close to Hann forest park and zoo, Hann beach to the east, and the Niayes and Pattes d’Oie districts to the northeast.

The motorway of course acts as an obstacle between these open areas of the city but it also produces residual spaces along its edge that are available for development and thus provide an opportunity to connect these areas.

This green infrastructure is also essential because it overlaps with the blue infrastructure; Dakar’s complex hydrographic network plays an essential role in the storage of rainwater, before draining it off to the sea.

These residual spaces are actually vestiges of Dakar’s Niayes territory, which continues to shrink under urban pressure, to the detriment of the local environment. Indeed, the spectacular floods of August 2012 acted as a stark reminder of how the disappearance of rainwater retention in urban areas could spark violent and dramatic situations.

In addition to this problem, which leaves the local population exposed to risk, vegetation on the Dakar peninsula has virtually disappeared, again under the effect of urban pressure, which is causing the city to suffocate in an already highly strained climatic context (heat, wind, sand, dust). The lack of shade, the sand and dust that fill the streets, and the development of respiratory diseases (including asthma) exacerbated by air pollution all clearly point to this lack of green spaces.

The objective of the present mission for the development of the Grand Yoff catchment area is to provide preliminary designs for a project capable of fitting into the overall vision of an environmental and urban master plan for Dakar.
With this in mind, the mission takes into account the potential links that this new green space for the city could forge with the broader territory. At the project level, it also applies the various principles of the environmental and urban master plan while responding to its various objectives:

– Minimisation of exposure to flood risk,
– Sanitation in order to improve public health,
– Enhancement of the neighbourhood,
– Development of social interaction through a friendly public place designed for play, walking and meeting people

Program

Preliminary drawings for the landscaping of catchment area of Grand Yoff and its perimeter

Client

The Global fund for cities development (FMDV)

Team

INTERSCENE

Surface

30 ha

Status

Realized Study

Aménagement des abords du bassin de captage – Dakar (Sénégal), 2013

Le site du bassin de captage de Grand Yoff occupe une position clé, à la fois proche du parc forestier et zoologique de Hann,  de la plage de Hann à l’est, et des Niayes de Patte d’oie au nord-est.
L’autoroute se pose bien sûr en obstacle entre ces différents espaces libres de la ville mais elle produit aussi des espaces résiduels sur ces abords, autant d’emprises disponibles qui donnent l’occasion de les relier.

Cette trame verte est indispensable aussi car elle se superpose à la trame bleue; le réseau hydrographique complexe de Dakar qui joue un rôle essentiel  dans le stockage des eaux pluviales, avant de les renvoyer vers la mer.

Ces espaces sont en fait les vestiges des niayes de Dakar qui ne cessent de se réduire sous l’effet de la pression urbaine. Les inondations dramatiques d’ août 2012 ont pourtant montré à quel point la disparition des espaces de rétention d’eau pluviale en ville pouvait causer des situations violentes et dramatiques.

A cette exposition aux risques des populations, s’ajoute aussi la quasi-disparition de la végétation de la presqu’île de Dakar toujours sous l’effet de la pression urbaine. Celle-ci concoure à l’étouffement de la ville, dans un contexte climatique déjà très contraignant (chaleur, vents, sable, poussière..). L’absence d’ombre, les sables et les poussières qui envahissent les rues, le développement des pathologies respiratoires (asthme notamment) accentuées par la pollution atmosphérique, sont autant de signe de ce manque d’espaces verts.

L’objectif de la présente mission sur l’aménagement du bassin de captage de Grand Yoff consiste à esquisser un projet qui pourrait entrer dans la vision globale d’un plan vert pour Dakar.
Pour ce faire, elle prend en compte les liaisons possibles que ce nouvel espace vert de la ville pourrait entretenir avec le grand territoire. A l’échelle du projet, elle décline aussi les différents principes du plan vert,  en répondant à la fois à des objectifs :
– minimisation d’exposition au risque liés aux inondations,
– d’assainissement pour une amélioration de la santé publique
– d’embellissement du quartier,
– de lien  social d’un lieu public convivial destiné au jeu, à la promenade et à la rencontre.

Programme

Esquisse pour l’aménagement du bassin de captage de Grand Yoff et de ses abords

Maître d'ouvrage

Fond Mondial pour le Développement des Villes (FMDV)

Équipe

INTERSCENE

Superficie

30 ha

Statut

Étude réalisée