Canal de Berry – Cher, 2010

The 190 km long Canal de Berry was designed to transport coal from the mines of Commentry to the Allier river and from there to the forges of Berry. The only French canal modelled on the English «narrow canal» design, it has borne witness to a rich industrial history. Now abandoned and in places filled in, the challenge here is to rediscover this structural axis of development and to make it into a showcase piece combining art, landscape and history.

The project is based on the construction of several sections that are representative of the Canal’s diversity:

The Marmagne section (2.5 km stretch of traditional canal waterway) or the canal at the movies: symbolically re-embroidering the canal’s “guiding thread” over the continuity of the section.

Bourges section (1km stretch of canal waterway in an urban environment) or the shared canal: working on intersections (bridges, access ramps, etc.) and providing meeting spaces based on a walking theme.

The Plaimpied section (2.5 km of canal filled with wild vegetation) or a red carpet for a green hole: providing ample space for relaxation and play.

Anay-le-Vieil section (2.5 km drained canal set in a hilly landscape devoted to livestock farming) or the canal’s magic spells: restoring the canal through a «water course,» a sort of fishnet stretched over the surface with reflections and fog effects creating an impression of flowing water.

Each section is announced by emblematic «gateways». The structure of the itinerary on the sections will be influenced by different rhythms: the rhythm of the canal, the rhythm of the territory, the rhythm of the rest stops, the rhythm of artistic events and the rhythm of the traveller.
Dotted along the course of the canal, scenographic designs will occasionally accompany the traveller during his journey on foot or by bike, in reference to the canal, its territory, its landscapes and its natural life.

Program

Competition for the creation of a landscaped structuring axis along the Canal de Berry bike route

Client

Conseil Général du Cher

Team

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape architect & urbanist
TERRITOIRES - Architect
TERROIRS DE DEMAIN - ethnobotanist
KANOPEE - Tourist engineering
ISL - Engineering
SODEREF - BET

Surface

190 km

Status

Competition

Aménagement du canal de Berry – Cher (18), 2010

Long de 190 km, le canal de Berry a été conçu dans le but de transporter le charbon des mines de Commentry, dans l’Allier, vers les forges du Berry. Seul canal français conçu sur le modèle des « narrow canals » anglais, il est le témoin d’une riche histoire industrielle.  Aujourd’hui abandonné et comblé par endroits, l’enjeu est de retrouver cet axe structurant de développement et d’en faire un vecteur de notoriété mêlant art, paysage et Histoire.

Le projet repose sur l’aménagement  de  plusieurs sections représentatives de la diversité du Canal:
La section de Marmagne (2,5 km de canal traditionnel en eau) ou « le canal fait son cinéma »: rebroder symboliquement le fil « rouge » du canal sur toute la continuité de la section.

La section de Bourges (1km de canal en eau et en milieu urbain) ou le canal en partage: travailler sur les intersections (ponts, rampes d’accès, …) et proposer des espaces de rencontres autour d’un principe de promenade.

La section de Plaimpied (2,5 km de canal remblayé par une végétation spontanée) ou un tapis rouge pour une trouée verte : offrir un vaste espace de détente et de jeu.

La section Anay-le-Vieil (2,5 km de canal asséché au sein d’un paysage vallonné consacré à l’élevage) ou les magies du canal: reconstituer le canal par un « fil d’eau », sorte de filet de poissons tendu à la surface dont les reflets et les effets de brume rappellent l’écoulement de l’eau

Chaque section est annoncée par des « portes d’entrée » emblématiques.

La structure du parcours sur les sections subira différents rythmes: le rythme du canal, le rythme du territoire, le rythme des relais, le rythme des événements artistiques et le rythme du voyageur.

Disposées au fil de l’eau, des scénographies accompagnent ponctuellement l’itinérant dans son parcours à pied ou à vélo. Tels des clins d’œil, elles suggèrent le canal, son territoire, ses paysages, sa vie naturelle.

Programme

Concours pour la création d'un axe paysager structurant sur l'itinéraire du Canal de Berry à vélo

Maître d'ouvrage

Conseil Général du Cher

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Urbaniste-paysagiste
TERRITOIRES - Architecte
TERROIRS DE DEMAIN - ethnobotaniste
KANOPEE - ingénierie touristique
ISL - Ingénierie
SODEREF - BET

Superficie

190 km

Statut

Concours