Nivernais Canal development – Nièvre, 2006

The Canal du Nivernais, a magnificent hydraulic machine fashioned by man over time, occupies a strategic position in the heart of the Nièvre department. Originally built to supply Paris with firewood, in the course of its history the canal developed a unique landscape that is deeply entrenched in the Nivernais countryside. Its isolation has preserved it and created around it an original world where today time seems to have stood still.

There is huge potential for discovery and for opening up the canal to the broader landscape and its territory, but it is also fragile. The canal has an important and original heritage that should be preserved and promoted while respecting the secret balance of the setting. The studied section corresponds to the canal’s «showcase»: at this level, the canal crosses the water’s summit reach by which the Loire section connects to the Seine section. This geographic link is formed by the famous La Collancelle vaults and the ladder of Sardy locks, a genuine water elevator.

To open up the Sardy valley, the project emphasises strategic viewpoints that help understand the landscape, it creates connection points between the Canal and the road network, and it designs clear signage. The three entry points giving access to the canal become three doors directing the flow of pedestrians, cyclists and river traffic throughout the compactness of the site. Each one has its own identity.

The analysis identifies eight sequences that reveal the moods, smells, sounds and echoes that stir the walker’s imagination, immersing him or her in a mysterious and timeless world.

These sequences are related to a sensitive approach to the site taking several factors into account: the geomorphology of the canal valley, nature and land use, the arrival of events (such as the presence of quarries or water inlets), remarkable views and more.

Program

Outline a scheme for the development and reinvigoration of the Nivernais Canal

Client

Syndicat Mixte d'Équipement Touristique du Canal Nivernais

Team

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape architect & urbanist (Mandataire)
ABW - Architect
ISL - BET
TERROIRS DE DEMAIN - Ethnobotanist
XR - Scénographie
Grevin Développement – Scenographer P. Godlewski

Surface

5 km

Landscape Budget

60 000 €

Status

Realized project

Aménagement du Canal Nivernais – Nièvre (58), 2006

Le canal du Nivernais, magnifique machine hydraulique façonné par l’homme au cours des temps, détient une place stratégique au coeur de la Nièvre. Né d’une volonté commune d’approvisionner Paris en bois de chauffage, le canal aura su développer au fil de son histoire d’eau, un paysage à part, creusé profondément dans le sol du Pays du Nivernais. Son isolement a su le préserver et créer autour de lui un monde original où le temps parait aujourd’hui en suspend.

Les potentiels de découvertes et d’ouverture du canal sur son paysage extérieur, son territoire, sont multiples mais fragiles. Le canal possède un patrimoine important, original qu’il convient de préserver et de mettre en valeur tout en respectant l’équilibre secret du lieu. La section étudiée correspond à la « vitrine » du canal: à cette hauteur, le canal franchit le bief de partage des eaux qui permet de relier le bassin versant de la Loire à celui de la Seine. Ce trait d’union géographique se compose des fameuses voûtes de La Collancelle et de l’échelle de Sardy, véritable ascenseur d’eau.

Pour désenclaver la vallée de Sardy, le projet valorise les vues stratégiques pour la compréhension du paysage, il crée des accroches entre le canal et son réseau viaire, il imagine une signalétique propre. Les trois entrées qui permettent de découvrir le canal deviennent trois portes permettant de diriger les flux piétons, cyclistes et fluviaux sur toute l’épaisseur du site. Chacune a son identité.

L’analyse fait état de huit séquences qui permettent de révéler les ambiances, les odeurs, les sons et échos qui renvoient le promeneur à un imaginaire, le plongeant dans un univers mystérieux, hors du temps.

Ces séquences sont liées à une approche sensible du site prenant en compte plusieurs facteurs : géomorphologie de la vallée ou du canal, nature et occupation du sol, arrivées d’évènements (comme la présence de carrières ou d’arrivées d’eau), vues remarquables…

Programme

Esquisse d'un schéma de développement et d'animation du Canal Nivernais

Maître d'ouvrage

Syndicat Mixte d'Équipement Touristique du Canal Nivernais

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Paysagiste (Mandataire)
ABW – P. Warnant– Architecte
ISL – P-F. Fayel – BET
TERROIRS DE DEMAIN - Ethnobotaniste
XR - Scénographie
Grevin Développement - Ingénierie touristique

Superficie

5 km

Budget Travaux Paysage

60 000 €

Statut

Étude achevée