Animal Explora – Chateauvillain (52), 2010

The operation was about using a freely accessible natural site to create a «Nature Resort» offering a range of leisure activities and stays based on immersion in nature and contact with animals. The site, adjacent to the medieval village of Chateauvillain, is a natural area of 280 hectares, enclosed by a stone wall and originally used (17th century) as a game reserve. This area has exceptional natural qualities: variety and originality of its fauna and flora, the presence of water, a marked topography, rocky outcrops, contrasting landscapes and rare tree species.

Time seems to have stood still, leaving the park in fallow, suspended between its history and its future. We are now asked to read this park, to understand it in order to fully restore its meaning.

The project foresees the creation of 3 sites:
1 – The Hamlet site features curves, a rolling aspect. It expresses a strong relationship with the EARTH.
2 – The aquatic centre site is marked by the presence of rockslides covered with moss, reminiscent of a flowing stream. It expresses a strong relationship with WATER.
3 – The mill site is a belvedere looking over the valley. Very aerial, it expresses a strong relationship with AIR.

The theme of metamorphosis is an opportunity to illustrate the gradual advance of the visitor, his or her transition from the civilised world to the wild world. The aim here is to interpret and transcribe, through images, the emotions experienced during this process of initiation, using the morphological evolution of the insect.
1 – The arrival is marked by a hesitant, unsteady gait. The advancing path twists and turns. We work our way in slowly, stumbling, exhilarated by this preparation for the great outdoors. These are the first steps. An idea of MOBILITY, relatively cursory and contained, a dislocation.
2 – The world of the Aquatic Centre inspires WITHDRAWAL, a pause for meditation. The themes of sleep, the nymph or the chrysalis, seem to correlate with the vegetative state, a state of solemn reflection and inner peace.
3 – FLIGHT: the visitor sees a flaring at the end of the road, air. He runs, spreads his wings. The proposed concept is inspired by the specific structure of each of these states (LAND & MOBILITY, WATER & WITHDRAWAL, AIR & FLIGHT) and borrows their vocabulary, their shapes and textures.

Program

Project management competition for the design and construction of the Animal Explora zoo.

Client

CONSEIL GÉNÉRAL DE LA HAUTE MARNE

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau- Landscape architect & Urbanist
Art’UR - Architects (mandataire)
COTEBA - BET
CREATIME - Outdoor Scenographer
JF LOHOU - Inside scenographer

Surface

272 m²

Status

Competition

Animal Explora – Chateauvillain (52), 2010

L’opération consiste en la création dans un site naturel libre d’accès, d’un « Resort Nature », proposant une offre de loisirs et de séjour basée sur l’immersion dans la nature et la rencontre avec l’animal.  Le site, accolé au bourg médiéval de Chateauvillain est un espace naturel de 280 hectares, clos par un mur de pierre et servant à l’origine (17ème siècle), de réserve de chasse. Ce territoire présente des qualités naturelles exceptionnelles : variété et originalité de la faune et de la flore, présence de l’eau, topographie marquée, affleurements rocheux, opposition de paysages, essences rares. Le temps semble s’être arrêté, laissant en jachère le parc, suspendu entre son histoire et son devenir. Il nous est aujourd’hui demandé de lire ce parc, de le comprendre afin de lui rendre tout son sens.

Le projet prévoit la création de 3 sites :
1- Le site du Hameau, présente des rondeurs, un moutonnement. Il traduira une relation forte à la TERRE.
2- Le site du centre aquatique, est marqué par la présence d’éboulis rocheux couverts de mousse, qui rappellent le ruissellement. Il traduira une relation forte à l’EAU.
3- Le site du moulin, est un belvédère sur la vallée. Très aérien, il traduira une relation forte à l’AIR.

Le thème de la métamorphose est l’occasion d’illustrer l’avancée progressive du visiteur, son passage du monde civilisé au monde sauvage. Il s’agit d’interpréter, de retranscrire par l’image, les émotions ressenties lors de ce parcours initiatique, en utilisant l’évolution morphologique de l’insecte.

1- L’arrivée est empruntée, traduit une déambulation hésitante, mal assurée. L’avancée est sinueuse. On s’immisce, doucement, on balbutie, enivré par cette préparation aux grands espaces. Ce sont les premiers pas. Une idée de MOBILITE, relativement sommaire, contenue, un déhanchement.
2- L’univers du Centre Aquatique inspire le REPLI, la pause pour la méditation. Le thème du dormant, celui de nymphe ou chrysalide, semble en corrélation avec l’état végétatif, de recueil, et d’apaisement.
3- L’ENVOL : Le visiteur perçoit au bout du chemin un évasement, de l’air. Il court, déploie ses ailes.
Le concept proposé s’inspire de la structure propre de chacun de ces états (TERRE & MOBILITE, EAU & REPLI, AIR & ENVOL) et emprunte leur vocabulaire, leurs formes et leurs textures.

Programme

Concours de maitrise d’œuvre pour la conception-réalisation d'un espace de loisirs et de découvertes de la nature

Maître d'ouvrage

CONSEIL GÉNÉRAL DE LA HAUTE MARNE

Équipe

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau- Urbaniste-paysagiste
Art'UR - Architectes (mandataire)
COTEBA - BET général
CREATIME - Scénographie du paysage
JF LOHOU - Décor et scénographie intérieure

Superficie

272 m²

Statut

Projet de concours