Club de Khouribga – Khouribga, 2011

Located on a plot of approximately 7 acres to the east of the city, the site in question is ringed by primary roads to the north, south and west. Access is consequently very difficult. Currently occupied by a clubhouse and an equestrian club, the aim is to have it accommodate a larger tourist complex comprising accommodation, sports facilities and leisure activities: restaurants, meeting rooms, fitness trail, solarium, educational garden, games for all ages and water features.

Beyond the issue of the quality of access to the site, the project develops the strong concept of the garden in the middle of the city, more commonly known by the name “Garden City”. Indeed, one of the objectives is to use green spaces as structural elements between buildings (and not gardens as “scraps” to be worked into the overall design). For example, a landscaped walk in the vicinity of the clubhouse is proposed as a meandering trail (750m in length) going through the site all around the Activities and

Relaxation area. It connects to the “forest”, the pools of the oases, the plant nursery and the filter basin, and also gives access to various buildings in the relaxation areas.

The site includes a large area of green spaces that will be redesigned and reorganised in line with High Environmental Quality standards. The definition of conceptual choices and the architectural approach will be based on a traditional southern Moroccan architecture taking the local climatic conditions into account. There will be a preference for natural materials such as clay or wood.

A space for recreation and relaxation, the OCP club gets a new look.

We propose to emphasise the outstanding specimens (date palms, pine and cypress mainly) in the existing grounds, which feature a multitude of varieties planted over the years without any real sense of composition, while redefining a strong and refined image.

New moods will be created by groups of pines, cypresses, acacias and other plants setting the project in a dense plant environment while filtering views from the town. Tall palm trees will dominate the heart of the park.

The industrial activity of the OCP Group is expressed through a mineral treatment revealing the substratum of the phosphate plateau and through the insertion of metal (gears/bolts/chains/rails) in the facing, as well as a small trolley on rails recycled into a container for picking vegetables in the Gardeners’ Corner.

The general organisation of the ground plan leaves great freedom for strolling through the large grassy expanses around the pools. A paddling pool and splash-pad area are specially designed for toddlers.

Further on, in the heart of a sandy oasis overgrown with tall grasses, the Children’s Paradise offers a large themed playground, a climbing wall and a gardening corner with the Vegetable Growers’ School.

With sustainability in mind, rainwater is retained temporarily in the green roofs before filtering through a series of draining swales that act as structuring elements for the grounds.

Wastewater is retrieved from buildings, processed and stored in planted natural ponds. A pumping station draws from this great reserve of biodiversity and irrigates the grounds.

Program

Design of a Club project in Khouribga (Morocco)

Client

OCP (Premier groupe industriel marocain)

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Landscape architect
Cabinet ZIYAT - Architect
Cabinet NOGUERA - Consulting architect
OMNIUM Technologique - BET
BET E.A.U. Ingénierie - High Environmental Quality standard consultant
K3L (Kitchen designer)

Surface

7 ha

Global Budget

128 717 673 MAD (équivalent à 11,5 millions d'€)

Status

Competition

Club de Khouribga – Khouribga (Maroc), 2011

Situé sur un terrain d’environ 7 hectares à l’est de la ville, le site concerné est ceinturé d’artères principales au nord, au sud et à l’ouest. Le site est donc peu accessible.

Actuellement occupé par un club house et un club équestre il est destiné à accueillir plus largement un complexe touristique comprenant une offre d’hébergement, d’activités sportives et de détente : restauration, salles de rencontre, parcours de santé, solarium, jardin pédagogique, jeux dédiés à tous âges, plans d’eau.

Au-delà de l’enjeu d’une bonne accessibilité au site, le projet développe le concept fort du jardin au milieu de la cité, ou plus généralement connu sous la dénomination de « cité-jardin ». En effet, un des objectifs est d’utiliser les espaces verts comme éléments structurants entre bâtis (et non les jardins comme ‘chutes’ à aménager). A titre d’exemple, une promenade paysagère autour de la zone du Club House est proposée sous forme de promenade sinueuse (avec un linéaire de 750m) parcourant le site tout autour de la zone Activités et Détente. Elle dessert la « forêt », les oasis avec les bassins d’eau, la pépinière, le bassin filtrant, et donne accès aussi aux différents bâtiments et aires de détente.

Le site comporte une surface importante d’espaces verts, qui sera réagencé et réorganisé dans le cadre des cibles H.Q.E. La définition des choix conceptuels et du parti architectural s’appuie sur une architecture traditionnelle du sud du Maroc en tenant compte des conditions climatiques de la zone. Des matériaux naturels tels que la terre ou le bois sont donc privilégiés.

Espace de loisir et de détente, le club OCP se voit attribuer une nouvelle image.
Du parc existant, composé d’une multitude d’essences plantées au fil des années sans réelle composition, nous proposons de valoriser les sujets existants remarquables (phœnix, pins et cyprès essentiellement) tout en redéfinissant une image forte et épurée.

Ces nouvelles ambiances sont signifiées par des groupements de pins, de cyprès, d’acacias et d’autres qui viennent inscrire le projet dans un contexte végétal dense tout en laissant filtrer les vues depuis la ville. Au cœur du parc, les grands palmiers dominent.

L’activité industrielle du groupe OCP est signifiée par un traitement minéral révélant le sous sol du plateau phosphatier et par des insertions de métal dans les revêtements (engrenages/boulons/chaines/rails),et par un petit wagonnet sur rail, réutilisé pour la cueillette des légumes du Coin des Maraîchers.

L’organisation générale du plan masse laisse la part belle à la flânerie, sur les grandes étendues d’herbe qui bordent les piscines. Une pataugeoire et un splash-pad sont spécialement destinés aux Tout Petits.

Plus loin, au cœur d’une oasis ensablée et envahie de grandes graminées, le Paradis des Enfants propose une grande aire de jeux thématisée, un mur d’escalade et un coin jardinage avec les Potagers École.

D’un point de vue environnemental, l’eau pluviale est retenue temporairement dans le complexe des toitures végétalisées avant de s’infiltrer dans un jeux de noues drainantes, structurantes pour le parc.

Les eaux usées des bâtiments sont récupérées, traitées et stockées dans des bassins naturels plantés. Une station de pompage puise dans cette grande réserve de biodiversité et irrigue le parc.

Programme

Conception d’un projet de Club à Khouribga (Maroc)

Maître d'ouvrage

OCP (Premier groupe industriel marocain)

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau (paysagiste)
Cabinet ZIYAT (Architecte)
Cabinet NOGUERA (Architecte consultant)
OMNIUM Technologique (BET)
BET E.A.U. Ingénierie (Consultant HQE)
K3L (Cuisiniste)

Superficie

7 ha

Budget Travaux Global

128 717 673 MAD (équivalent à 11,5 millions d'€)

Statut

Concours