Town Centre urban & landscape assessment – Dreux, 2000-2003

The town of Dreux wished to redefine the image of its centre by commissioning an environmental, urban and landscape study, supplemented by a traffic analysis and an analysis of cultural positioning. This process of reflection was punctuated by various meetings and consultations with community associations and residents.

The different scenarios proposed associated the image of the city in sites that are traditionally charged with meaning: a set of central public spaces around the Place Mésirard and an exceptional fabric of waterways made up of a flood meadow, canals, islands, oxbow lakes, sophisticated irrigation networks, wash houses that reveal economic activities based on water «expertise», and so on. Over the years, the Blaise river has driven the local economy with a concentration of economic, social and recreational buildings springing up along its course, making it into a trade hub on the old road to Brittany. As a link between the meadows and the hillside vineyards, the Blaise has always connected people.

Thus, enhancing the course of the river through the old fabric strongly guided the approach to the overall project. In this respect, the analysis of historical maps permitted to reveal the state of the properties and gardens along the river, near the former Place de Bonde, today known as Place Mésirard.

Like so many remarkable features embodying the memory of places, fountains, footbridges, railings, benches, lighting, amphitheatres of green and reed beds constitute the new vocabulary characterising the journey of the Blaise.

The study resulted in the launch of an ambitious programme that includes a media library, the renovation of the theatre, the restoration of a Louis XIII pavilion, the transformation of the Arsenal pavilion into a centre for contemporary art, the suppression of a surface car park and the creation of an indoor market.

The programme for a facility of this kind for the city, itself the centre of the greater urban community of Drouais, aims to showcase the cultural centre in the heart of town and beyond its geographical borders, while providing Drouais with a space of exchange and socialisation.

Program

Town centre development assessment (environmental, urban and landscape study) and definition of a new principle of centrality

Client

Commune de DREUX

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Landscape architect & urbanist
TERROIRS DE DEMAIN F. Lenoble Prédine - ethnobotanist
AGENCE DES ESPACES PUBLICS
REICHEN ET ROBERT - architects

Surface

170 ha

Study Budget

206 153 €

Status

Study carried out, having given rise to studies of arrangement(development) of public places

Diagnostic paysager et urbain du centre-ville – Dreux (28), 2000-2003

La ville de Dreux souhaitait repositionner l’image de son centre, grâce à une étude urbaine, paysagère et environnementale, complétée d’une analyse de la circulation et de positionnement culturel. Les réflexions engagées ont été rythmées de rencontres diverses et de concertations avec les associations et les habitants.

Les différents scénari proposés ancrent l’image de la ville sur les lieux traditionnellement chargés de sens : un ensemble d’espaces publics centraux, autour de la Place Mésirard et un tissu hydrographique exceptionnel fait de prairie humide, de canaux d’îles, de bras morts, de réseaux savants d’irrigation, de lavoirs révélateurs d’activités économiques tournées sur le « savoir faire» autour de l’eau… La Blaise agit au fil des ans comme le moteur de l’économie locale greffant sur son cours, l’ensemble du bâti économique social et récréatif de ce pôle d’échanges naissant sur l’ancienne route de Bretagne. La Blaise, trait d’union des prairies et des coteaux viticoles, a de tout temps servi de lien.

Ainsi la valorisation de la rivière à travers le tissu ancien a fortement guidé la démarche du projet général. L’analyse des cartes historiques de ce point de vue ont contribué à nous révéler l’état des propriétés et des jardins au fil de l’eau, aux abords de l’ancienne place de la Bonde aujourd’hui place Mésirard.

Comme autant d’éléments remarquables de la mémoire des lieux, fontaines, passerelles, garde corps, bancs, mise en lumière, amphithéâtre de verdure, roselières constituent le nouveau vocabulaire décliné au fil de la Blaise.

L’étude a débouché sur le lancement d’un programme ambitieux comprenant une médiathèque, la rénovation du théâtre, la restauration du pavillon Louis XIII, la transformation du pavillon de l’Arsenal en centre d’art contemporain, la disparition du parking de surface et la création d’un marché couvert.

Le programme d’un tel équipement pour la ville, elle-même centre de la communauté d’agglomération du Drouais, vise à faire rayonner le pôle culturel en coeur de ville et au-delà de ses frontières géographiques, tout en offrant aux Drouais un lieu d’échange et de rencontre.

Programme

Diagnostic d’aménagement du centre-ville (étude environnementale, urbaine et paysagère) et définition d’un nouveau principe de centralité

Maître d'ouvrage

Commune de DREUX

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Urbaniste-paysagiste
TERROIRS DE DEMAIN - ethnobotaniste
AGENCE DES ESPACES PUBLICS
REICHEN ET ROBERT - architectes

Superficie

170 ha

Budget Études

206 153 €

Statut

Étude réalisée, ayant donné lieu à des études d’aménagement d'espaces publics