Eco Camping International – Bruges, 2004-2009

To make up for the lack of large scale outdoor accommodation facilities in the Bordeaux suburbs, local authorities took the initiative of proposing a plot that came available in 2004. The site chosen to host the Bordeaux international camping project is located in the town of Bruges, on the shore of Bordeaux Lake, adjacent to the exhibition centre.

The aim of the project was to provide quality accommodation in an alcove of greenery. The lakeside setting of the site was studied so as to allow the conservation of habitat and to provide a natural swimming area. Five pools with a total area of over one hectare were created and are spanned by wooden footbridges and pontoons. They are decorated with reed beds, riprap from local stone and cobblestone using pebbles from the Adour. This green, aquatic environment is also the setting for a business restaurant and leisure facilities (playgrounds, sports grounds).

The preservation of the environment and ecological considerations were fully integrated into the project because the site is set within a designated ecology and wildlife zone (ZNIEFF type 2) and close to the national nature reserve and Natura 2000 site of the «Bruges Marshes».

Program

Project management mission for the construction of the Bruges campsite within a designated ecology and wildlife zone (ZNIEFF).

Client

PROGEFIM (Jérôme THEVENON)

Team

INTERSCENE - Landscape architect & Urbanist
Atelier DE MARCO – Architect ECCTA (BET)
ECO CAMPS (Ecologist)

Surface

13,50 ha

Global Budget

7 000 000 €

Status

Realized Project

Eco Camping International – Bruges (33), 2004-2009

Pour pallier l’absence d’équipements d’hôtellerie de plein air de taille significative sur l’agglomération bordelaise, les collectivités locales ont pris l’initiative de proposer un terrain disponible en 2004. Le site retenu pour le projet d’implantation du camping international de Bordeaux se situe sur la commune de Bruges, en berge du lac de Bordeaux, à proximité du Forum des expositions.

Le projet consistait à proposer un espace d’hébergement qualitatif dans une alcôve de verdure.  Le milieu lacustre du site a été étudié pour permettre la conservation du biotope et la possibilité de proposer une zone de baignade naturelle. Cinq bassins d’une surface totale de plus d’un hectare ont été créés et sont enjambés par des pontons et passerelles en bois. Ils sont ornés de roselières, d’enrochements locaux et de calades de galets de l’Adour.

Cet environnement verdoyant et aquatique  est également l’écrin d’un restaurant d’affaires et d’un ensemble ludique (espaces de jeux, espaces sportifs).

La préservation de l’environnement et les considérations écologiques furent  complétement intégrées au projet car le site est positionné au sein d’une zone naturelle d’intérêt écologique Floristique et faunistique (ZNIEFF de type 2) et à proximité immédiate de la réserve naturelle nationale et du site Natura 2000 des « Marais de Bruges ».

Programme

Mission de maîtrise d’oeuvre pour la construction du camping de Bruges au sein d’une Zone Naturelle d’Intérêt Ecologique Floristique et Faunistique (ZNIEFF)

Maître d'ouvrage

PROGEFIM (Jérôme THEVENON)

Équipe

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Architecte paysagiste
Atelier DE MARCO – Architecte en bâtiments
ECCTA - BET Thermique
ECO CAMPS - Conseiller HQE

Superficie

13,50 ha

Budget Travaux Global

7 000 000 €

Statut

Projet réalisé