Éco-quartier Maison Neuve – Guérande (44), 2011

Located in the third ring of suburbs of the town of Guérande, barely 700 meters from the ramparts of the walled town, the district of Maison Neuve is the first milestone of the eco rampart concept. The idea behind this concept initiated and developed by Eduardo Souto de Moura in the framework of the Atelier Littoral (Coastline Workshop) is to give the city back limits by finding new ramparts in the symbolic image of enclosing walls. It is not about creating new enclosures but about defining a durable thickness between land for construction and natural or agricultural areas. This aim is to constitute a fabric made up of various thicknesses that let the landscape enter the city. The water circuit is one of the foundations of this pilot project dealing with the treatment of the boundaries between built space and natural space.

Landscaping principles:

The site’s landscape identity is emphasised. The principle of planting hedgerows on slopes is retained. The network of soft connections is plotted out based on the layout of the hedgerows and main arteries are created along the lines of the weak and aging hedgerows. The vegetation that currently allows to distinctly identify the hollows, gaps and full areas of the site plays this same role of “space sensor” in the framework of the project. It is differentiated depending on the entities and thus enables an instinctive reading of the site: wet area, stream, meadow, walking trail, bike trail (Vélocéan), plot boundary, etc.

The presence of the stream is one of the distinctive features of the project. It can be understood as the backbone of the project, serving as a connection between Guérande/salt marshes/Atlantic ocean and laying out the initial outline of a safe walking route. By softening transitions between urbanised areas and agricultural areas it also acts as a buffer. Beyond its ecological function of draining off rainwater through the network of swales that flow into its bed, the stream is a genuine walking route. Its banks are shaped so as to allow better visibility and accessibility.

The emphasis is placed on pedestrian paths: a whole network of paths and cycle tracks criss-crosses the site. In order to maintain the tranquillity of the site, car parking is provided for via the “landscaped parking pockets” located outside housing access. They may occasionally be used as reception venues.

Program

Design of an eco-district based on the “eco-rampart” concept, extension of the town of Guérande: 600 housing units, facilities and public spaces

Client

City of Guérande

Team

ATARAXIA - Planner
ARCAU - Architect Urbanist
INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape architect &Urbanist
GIBOIRE - Property developer
SAFEGE - BET VRD
POLLEN - Energy

Surface

30 ha

Status

Competitio,

Éco-quartier Maison Neuve – Guérande (44), 2011

Situé en 3ème couronne de la ville de Guérande, à 700 mètres des remparts de la ville fortifiée, le quartier de Maison Neuve constitue le premier jalon du concept d’éco rempart. Initié et développé par Eduardo Souto de Moura dans le cadre de l’Atelier Littoral, ce concept a pour finalité de redonner des limites à la ville. L’idée n’est pas de constituer de nouvelles enceintes mais de définir une épaisseur durable entre les emprises constructibles et les espaces naturels ou agricoles. Il s’agit d’obtenir un tissu composé de diverses épaisseurs qui laisse le paysage entrer dans la ville.  Le circuit de l’eau est l’un des fondements de ce projet pilote sur la question du traitement des limites entre espace bâti et espace naturel.

Principes d’aménagement paysager:
L’identité paysagère du site est valorisée. Le principe de plantation des haies bocagères sur talus est conservé. Le réseau des liaisons douces est tracé en fonction de ce maillage bocager et les pénétrantes sont créées en lieu et place des parties faibles et vieillissantes des haies. La végétation qui permet actuellement d’identifier distinctement les creux, les vides et les pleins du site joue ce même rôle de « capteur d’espace » dans le cadre du projet. Elle est différenciée selon les entités et permet ainsi une lecture instinctive du site : zone humide, ru, prairie, sentier de promenade, Vélocéan, limite parcellaire, …

L’existence du ru est l’une des lignes de forces du projet. En connectant Guérande/Marais salants/océan Atlantique, il pose les premiers jalons d’un itinéraire de promenade sécurisé. Au-delà de sa fonction écologique de récupération des eaux pluviales via le réseau des noues qui se jette dans son lit , le rû est un véritable espace de promenade qui adoucit aussi les transitions entre zones urbanisées et zones agricoles. Ses berges sont façonnées pour en permettre une meilleure visibilité et accessibilité.

Les cheminements piétons sont favorisés : un réseau de sentes et de pistes cyclables sillonne le site. Afin de conserver la tranquillité du lieu, le stationnement des véhicules est prévu  sur des « poches de parkings paysagés’ situées en dehors des accès aux habitations. Elles peuvent à l’occasion être utilisées comme lieu de réception.

Programme

Conception d’un éco-quartier sur le concept "d'éco-rempart", extension de l’agglomération de Guérande: 600 logements, équipements et espaces publics

Maître d'ouvrage

Ville de Guérande

Équipe

ATARAXIA (mandataire) Aménageur
ARCAU - Architecte Urbaniste
INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Paysagiste Urbaniste
GIBOIRE -Promoteur immobilier
SAFEGE - BET VRD
POLLEN - Energie

Superficie

30 ha

Statut

Concours