Autumn Exhibition at the French Senate – Paris (75), 8-27 septembre 2010

Every September for thirty years, the French Senate has organised an exhibition in the setting of the Luxembourg Gardens Orangerie on a theme related to horticulture, botany or the art of the garden. Indeed, the gardeners and the Conservation des Jardins of the Luxembourg Gardens have always been keen to share their knowledge and expertise and to reveal to the public often overlooked facets of their profession or the plant world. This year, at the initiative of the Conservation des Jardins, the Autumn

Exhibition was on the theme of “Trees, Converging Views”.

Viewed through the prism of scientific research and artistic expression, the tree takes on a new dimension, whether sycamore, chestnut, oak, maple or ash. In total, fourteen tree species are presented, allowing for a varied approach to these plants that are so ubiquitous in our daily lives.
Divided into three sections, the exhibition details the uses or services provided by these singular life forms:

Trees and forest/urban ecosystems
Amidst the relics of a woodland cathedral, a resurgent forest in the bloom of youth recalls its natural resilience and ability to self-repair after the damage caused by recent storms.

Trees and art
3 sculptors and one engraver present works in which they express their sensory relationship to trees.
The artists involved in this adventure were: Jean-François Bertrand, Didier Rousseau, Dan Sprinceana and François Houtin, as well as students from the École Boulle.

Trees and the sciences
The forestry branch of a research lab is a pretext to present the scientific work of researchers from the Ecology, Systematics and Evolution Laboratory at the University Paris-Sud 11, CNRS, AgroParisTech.

Through a video, multimedia demonstrations and lectures, the public learn more about the practices of the scientific world and scientists also answer their questions about how trees will cope with climate change.

Program

Project management for the design of the exhibition, scenography and promotional materials

Client

SENAT

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau
(Exhibition curator and designer)

Surface

1 000 m²

Status

Realized Project

Exposition d’automne au Sénat – Paris (75), 8-27 septembre 2010

Depuis une trentaine d’années, le Sénat organise en septembre, dans le cadre de l’orangerie du Jardin du Luxembourg, une exposition sur un thème ayant trait à l’horticulture, à la botanique ou à l’art des jardins. Les jardiniers et la Conservation des Jardins ont en effet toujours eu a cœur de partager leurs savoirs et leur savoir-faire et de montrer au public des facettes souvent méconnues de leur métier ou du monde végétal. Cette année, à l’initiative de la Conservation des Jardins, l’Exposition d’automne présente l’exposition « Arbres, Regards Croisés ».

Passé par le prisme du regard et du travail des scientifiques et des artistes, l’arbre prend une nouvelle dimension, qu’il soit platane, marronnier, chêne, érable ou frêne. Au total, ce sont quatorze essences d’arbre qui sont présentées, permettant une approche variée de ces végétaux omniprésents dans notre vie quotidienne.

Déclinée en trois espaces, l’exposition détaille les usages ou services de ces êtres singuliers :

Arbre et écosystème forestier et urbain
Entre les reliques d’une forêt cathédrale, une toute jeune forêt renaissante rappelle sa capacité naturelle à la résilience et à l’auto-réparation après les dommages des dernières tempêtes.

Arbre et art
3 sculpteurs et 1 graveur dévoilent leurs œuvres pour exprimer leur approche et leurs relations sensibles avec l’Arbre.
Les artistes associés à cette aventure sont : Jean-François Bertrand, Didier Rousseau, Dan Sprinceana et François Houtin, ainsi que les élèves de l’École Boulle.

Arbre et sciences
Une déclinaison sylvicole d’un laboratoire de recherches est prétexte à présenter les travaux scientifiques des chercheurs du laboratoire Écologie, Systématique et Évolution de l’Université Paris-Sud 11, CNRS, AgroParisTech.

Une vidéo, des animations multimédia et des conférences permettent au public de se familiariser avec les usages du monde savant et de répondre aux questions posées sur le devenir des arbres face aux changements climatiques.

Programme

Mission de maitrise d'œuvre pour la conception de l'exposition,
la scénographie et la conception des supports de communication

Maître d'ouvrage

SENAT

Équipe

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau
(Commissaire d'exposition et scénographe)

Superficie

1 000 m²

Statut

Projet achevé