French Park, Château Laffitte – Pékin (Chine), 2004

Situated on the banks of Beijing’s main river (the Wenyu), the original construction of the «Chateau Lafitte» was completed in 2004. Built in the heart of a 24 hectare park devoted to the luxury hotel businesss, it presents an architecture that is based entirely on the Château of Maisons-Laffitte in France.

The idea was to give this surprising estate a «French-style» landscaping with canals, fountains and bronze statues copied from Versailles. In addition, the aim was to include elements of traditional Chinese culture.

The approach consisted in associating path structures and alignment systems borrowed from the large estates in the Paris region and vineyards with the flowing lines and curves of an Anglo-Chinese garden.

Program

Competition for the landscaping of the Chateau Laffitte property in Beijing.

Client

M. ZHANG

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Landscape architect & Urbanist
Jean-Louis MARIN - Architect

Surface

24 ha

Status

Competition

French Park, Château Laffitte – Pékin (Chine), 2004

Situé sur les bords de la rivière principale de Pékin (la rivière Wenyu), la construction originale du « château Laffitte » a été achevé en 2004. Bâti au cœur d’un parc de 24 hectares et destiné à l’hôtellerie de luxe, il présente une architecture entièrement inspirée du château de Maisons-Laffitte en France (78).

Il s’agissait de donner à ce domaine   surprenant un écrin paysager « à la Française » présentant canaux, fontaines, et statues en bronze imitées de Versailles.  Mais aussi d’y retrouver des éléments de la culture traditionnelle chinoise.

Le parti fut pris d’associer la structure des tracés et les systèmes d’alignements des grandes propriétés de la région parisienne et du terroir viticole, aux lignes fluides et courbées d’un jardin anglo-chinois.

Programme

Concours pour l'aménagement paysager de la propriété Château Laffitte à Pékin

Maître d'ouvrage

M. ZHANG

Équipe

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Urbaniste-paysagiste
Jean-Louis MARIN - Architecte

Superficie

24 ha

Statut

Projet de concours