Kaeser, le carré de soie – Lyon, 2012-2013

The idea of the garden as a place of biodiversity, a secret space both rich and simple that acts as a strong link between different habitats and societies.
Rainwater harvesting and shimmering waters intersect at the centre of the block. Organised chaos and order of nature mingle intimately forming enclosed gardens, front gardens, gardens running through the block without disturbing the residents.

Plants set to work taking over the South and North facades and, in the spirit of the garden cities, form a micro garden at the foot of the housing blocks where they are reinforced by various moderate-sized varieties that fit with the scale of the site and light on the buildings. We will find albizia, rowan and willow whose branches spread to form sun umbrellas, thus providing shade and protection while emphasising seasonality.
Decking and paving planted with meadow grasses, shrubs and hedges will wind along the main axis creating a screen and mashrabiya effect that will give families privacy in relation to the passages linking activities and a series of ponds (highly concentrated in biodiversity) and reed beds.

These very shallow ponds will expand and contract in keeping with the flow of water. They lie on gravel beds and are interconnected. The open block will maintain transparency and fluidity thanks to its gates and the paths running through it. The vegetation outside the block will be seen on the facades covered with climbers, the outward sign of this inner biodiversity.

In order to be fully appreciated, the gardens must be discovered, breathed in, savoured and shared. Indeed there will be room for vegetable plots and square kitchen gardens near the children’s play areas; first and foremost these will encourage social interaction but they will also produce vegetables in the manner of garden cities or communal neighbourhood gardens.

Simple and abundant, rich and diverse, they will accompany the architecture, serving as the base on which buildings are inserted. Kiosks, planted bicycle parking areas, technical rooms with green roofs, and playgrounds on the theme of water management round off the scheme.

Program

Landscaping of central areas of urban blocks on former silk manufacturing sites in Lyon

Client

ICADE

Team

Jean de Gastines - Architect (Mandataire)
INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape architect & Urbanist

Surface

5 000 m²

Global Budget

290 000 €

Status

Current Project

Kaeser, le carré de soie – Lyon (69), 2012-2013

L’idée du jardin comme lieu de la biodiversité, l’ilot secret riche et simple à la fois mais qui agit en lien étroit entre les différents habitats et sociétés.

Recueil des eaux pluviales et eaux miroitantes pour se retrouver au cœur de l’ilot. Fouillis organisé et ordre de la nature se mêlent intimement en agissant sur les populations en jardins clos, jardins de façade, jardins traversants sans déranger les habitants et capteurs d’énergie.

Le végétal part à l’assaut des façades Sud et Nord puis dans l’esprit des cités jardins s’installe en micro jardin au pied des habitations renforcé par les essences diverses de taille modérée pour respecter l’échelle du site et la lumière sur les bâtiments. On retrouvera  albizzias, sorbiers, saules dont les formes simples étalées en parasols assureraient protection et ombrage et renforceraient le concept de saisonnalité.

Les sols en caillebotis de bois et pavage plantés entre prairie arbustes et haies vives serpenteront le long de l’axe principal pour assurer un effet d’écran et de moucharabieh en donnant l’intimité aux familles par rapport aux passages , reliant les activités et assurant le lieu en chapelet de mares (véritable concentré de biodiversité) et de roselières.
Les mares très peu profondes fluctueront au fur et à mesure des arrivées d’eau. Elles sont plantées dans du gravier et reliées entre elles. L’ilot ouvert laissera transparence et fluidité par ses portes et ses axes traversants. Le végétal extérieur à l’ilot sera perceptible sur les façades couvertes de grimpants, il sera le signe extérieur de cette biodiversité intérieure.

Les jardins ne se livrent pas. Ils se découvrent, se respirent, se dégustent, se partagent. En effet des jardinets de rapport aux potagers en carré trouveront leur place près des jeux d’enfants et permettront de produire avant tout du lien social mais aussi des légumes à l’image des cités jardins ou des jardins partagés des quartiers voisins.

Simples et foisonnant, riches et divers ils accompagnent l’architecture, lui servent de socle sur lequel le bâti s’inscrit. Kiosques, parking vélos végétalisés, locaux techniques aux toits plantés, aires de jeux sur la gestion de l’eau viennent compléter le dispositif du cœur d’ilot.

Programme

Aménagement de cœur d’ilot sur les anciens sites soyeux de Lyon

Maître d'ouvrage

ICADE

Équipe

Jean de Gastines - Architecte (Mandataire)
INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Paysagiste-urbaniste

Superficie

5 000 m²

Budget Travaux Global

290 000 €