Lake Masay – Tananarive, Madagascar, 2005-2007

The incomplete development of Lake Masay

In 2004, the Masay marsh underwent a major development operation with digging work, dyke construction and the uprooting of countless water hyacinths. Large embankments were required to build the dyke. Earth was borrowed from hills close to the city, sometimes razing them completely. A pathway around the lake was constructed for pedestrians and cyclists. Trees and plants grew very poorly on the banks, perhaps because of the quality of the soil taken from the hills (mainly composed of quartzite and consequently of low fertility).

The lake comprises two basins that regulate excess water and simultaneously provide rough filtration of the water that flows from the city-centre outlet canal into the southern basin, and from there into the northern basin before reaching the Andrianatany canal to the west.
Upgrading of the lake perimeter

Parts of the lake perimeter feature cultivated gardens in narrow strips and informal settlements built up against the walls of large properties from which Araucaria trees and other large trees stick out. While these spaces are private and inaccessible, they enhance the visual environment for people strolling around the lake.

This lake must become an agro-ecological and tourist development model combining leisure (fitness trail, sports fields, rest area), food and ornamental crops, as well as environmental preservation and education.

Program

Valuation study of Lake Masay under the Antananarivo environmental and urban master plan

Client

Région Ile-de-France

Team

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape Architect & Urbanist

Surface

100 ha

Status

Realized study

Lac Masay – Tananarive (Madagascar), 2005-2007

L’aménagement inachevé du lac Masay

En 2004, le marais Masay a subi de grands travaux. Il a été creusé, endigué, et d’innombrables jacinthes d’eau ont été extirpées. Pour construire la digue, des remblais importants ont été nécessaires. Les emprunts de terre ont été faits dans les collines proches de la ville, jusqu’à parfois les raser totalement. Autour du lac, une promenade a été aménagée pour les piétons et les cyclistes. Les arbres plantés et les plantations de berge poussent très mal, peut-être en raison de la terre, issue des collines, peu fertile (composée essentiellement de quartzite).

Le lac est constitué de deux bassins régulant les excédents d’eau et permettant, de manière simultanée, une filtration grossière de l’eau, qui se déverse depuis le canal exutoire du centre ville dans le bassin sud, puis, dans le bassin nord avant de rejoindre le canal Andrianatany à l’Ouest.

Un tour du lac à revaloriser

Le tour du lac est partiellement accompagné de jardins cultivés en bandes étroites et d’habitations précaires accolées aux murs de vastes propriétés d’où s’échappent des araucarias et d’autres arbres de grande taille. Ces espaces, pourtant privés et non accessibles, améliorent le cadre visuel des promeneurs du lac.
Ce lac doit devenir un modèle d’aménagement agro-écologique et touristique alliant agrément (parcours de santé, terrains de sports, aire de repos), cultures vivrières et ornementales, sauvegarde écologique et pédagogie.

Programme

Étude de valorisation du lac Masay dans le cadre du Plan vert d’Antanarivo.

Maître d'ouvrage

Région Ile-de-France

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Urbaniste-paysagiste

Superficie

100 ha

Statut

Étude achevée