Volcano Park – Île de la Réunion – 2002

On a 50 ha site, located on the Route du Piton de la Fournaise, this commission was to create a park that includes a paying area with attractions, a hotel village, parking areas, a public promenade and a large area for picnicking, a favourite occupation of the island’s inhabitants.

The development approach was to preserve natural sanctuaries for their scenic qualities and to use other areas that were more used or were damaged by successive storms to construct the various programme components. Thus, natural barricades (merlons) covered in tree heath and highland tamarins presenting a unique landscaping environment are preserved. The whole upper part of the site, very much a landscape of mountain valleys, meadows, rocky outcrops and heather-covered plateaux, contains shelters for picnic areas. The rest of the programme is located on threshold between the lowlands and the high plains. The main reception is positioned at the foot of a recreated rocky cliff. Visitors enter the volcano park through a tunnel dug into the rock, themed so that the impression of entering a volcanic gallery is totally convincing.

This passage leads to the extended main vent of the volcano, the site’s central distribution point.

The park’s attractions are more than just games: they are treated according to themes taken from Creole culture, volcanism or climatology (hurricanes). Temporary attractions brighten up the various open areas on the site.

The hotel part of the site is part of a differentiated perimeter, away from the main park, as well as the natural areas containing the picnic spots.

Program

Competition for the development of a public park with a promenade and large open picnic spaces combined with an amusement park and a hotel village.

Client

Mairie du TAMPON

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau- Landscape architect & Urbanist
Jean PIHOUEE-Architecte
GREVIN développement- Tourist and financial engineering.
Marc DUMAS - Light designer
OMEGA-BET VRD

Surface

50 ha

Global Budget

8 000 000 €

Status

Competition

Le Parc du Volcan – Île de la Réunion – 2002

Sur un site de 50 ha environ, situé sur la route du Piton de la Fournaise, la commande consistait à implanter un parc comprenant une partie payante avec des attractions, un village hôtelier, des aires de stationnement, une promenade publique et un vaste espace pique-nique cher aux habitants de l’île.

Le parti pris d’aménagement a consisté à conserver des espaces naturels sanctuarisés pour leurs qualités paysagères, et utiliser d’autres secteurs plus mouvementés ou abîmés par les tempêtes successives pour y implanter les divers éléments du programme. Ainsi, des merlons naturels couverts de bruyères arborescentes et de tamarins des Hauts présentant une ambiance paysagère unique sont préservés. Toute la partie haute du site, véritable paysage montagnard de combes, de prairies, d’affleurements rocheux et de massifs de bruyères arborescente accueille les refuges pour les aires de pique niques. Le reste du programme se loge au niveau de la cassure de niveau entre la plaine basse et la plaine haute. L’accueil principal est positionné en pied d’une falaise rocheuse recrée. On entre dans le parc des volcans par une galerie creusée dans la roche et thématisée, de manière à ce que l’impression de pénétrer dans une galerie volcanique soit totale. Ce boyau mène à la cheminée élargie du volcan, véritable espace de distribution du site.

Les attractions du parc, plus que de simples jeux, sont traitées selon des thématiques relevant de la culture créole, du volcanisme ou de la climatologie (les ouragans). Des animations temporelles viennent égayer les différentes esplanades du site.

La partie hôtelière du site fait partie d’un périmètre différencié, à l’écart du parc principal, de même que les espaces naturels accueillant les aires de pique-nique.

Programme

Concours pour l'aménagement d'un parc public avec promenade et vastes espaces de pique-nique couplés à un parc d'attraction et un village hôtelier.

Maître d'ouvrage

Mairie du TAMPON

Équipe

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau- Urbaniste-paysagiste.
Jean PIHOUEE-Architecte
GREVIN développement-Ingénieirie touristique et financière.
Marc DUMAS - concepteur lumière
OMEGA-BET VRD

Superficie

50 ha

Budget Travaux Global

8 000 000 €

Statut

Projet de concours