Domaine d’Estripault Natural Park – Martinique, 2011-2012

The Domaine d’Estripault extends over 22 ha in the heart of the forested area of northern Martinique. Its central geographic position at the intersection of the two major highways of Fort de France/Grand Rivière and Saint Pierre/Trinité, facing the emblematic presence of Mount Pelée, and the many strengths specific to the site, make it well suited to the development of a cultural and tourist amenity on the scale of the territory of Martinique.

To accompany the new Nature House, a 300 m² museum space, the Martinique Regional Natural Park is development of the rainforest and the extension of the museum space in the natural environment. The aim is also to identify and enhance the specific forest patrimony and the open space of the “esplanade” (the entrance to the domain that includes a plant nursery), as well as to develop a technical program and analyze its financial feasibility.

On the Esplanade space, a living exhibition is organized around two main themes: the Amerindian world and the Creole world, through the creation of a garden. The slope of the Esplanade site is highlighted in the project by increasing plant height and their different natures. Thus the visitor positioned at the highest point has an overview of the entire garden. The existing nursery is reworked and expanded on the theme of “plants today”.

For the Forest space, the following features are planned:

Panoramic, balcony-style, viewing platforms, in the manner of “treetop observatories”, balanced between two ridgelines.

The implementation of a suspension bridge over a ravine plunging into the forest, providing access to platforms to view wildlife and flora.

Two itineraries have been outlined: the red path and the shorter yellow path. Both are punctuated by “scenic spots” in certain key locations:

The “mirror ball” which allows visitors to view the tree canopy using a hemispherical stainless steel mirror equipped with sounds.

The “sights” to spot objects of curiosity.

Several information and discovery booths (on the theme of the earth, light and shadow, lianas, epiphytes, silence, selaginella, etc.) inviting visitors to sit down to contemplate and listen (equipped with sounds).

Program

Landscape design of the Domaine d’Estripault (Regional Natural Park in Martinique): Project definition study for tourist facilities as well as activity, study and training areas

Client

PNR de la Martinique

Team

CREATIME, Scenograph (Mandataire)
INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Landscape Architect
DECALOG

Surface

30 ha

Study Budget

50 000

Status

Current study

PNR du Domaine d’Estripault – Martinique, 2011-2012

Le domaine départemental d’Estripault occupe 22 ha, au cœur du massif forestier du nord de la Martinique. Sa position géographique centrale à l’intersection de deux grands axes routiers Fort de France/Grand Rivière, Saint Pierre/Trinité, face à la présence emblématique de la Montagne Pelée et de nombreux atouts propres au site le prédispose à l’aménagement d’un projet d’équipement culturel et touristique à l’échelle du territoire martiniquais.

Pour accompagner la nouvelle Maison de la Nature, un espace muséographique de 300 m², le PNR de la Martinique initie l’aménagement de la forêt tropicale, prolongement de l’espace muséographique en milieu naturel. Il s’agit d’identifier et valoriser les patrimoines spécifiques à la forêt et l’espace ouvert de « l’esplanade » (l’entrée du domaine qui comprend une pépinière), d’élaborer un programme technique et d’analyser sa faisabilité financière.

Sur l’espace de l’Esplanade, une exposition vivante est organisée selon deux grands thèmes : le monde amérindien et le monde créole avec la création d’un jardin. La déclivité du site de l’Esplanade est mise en valeur dans le projet par la hauteur croissante des végétaux ainsi que leurs différentes natures. Ainsi le visiteur situé au point haut possède toujours une vue d’ensemble du jardin. La pépinière existante est retravaillée et étoffée sur le thème des « plantes d’aujourd’hui ».

Pour l’espace Forêt, sont projetées :
des plateformes d’observation panoramiques en balcon, telles que « l’observatoire de la canopée », en équilibre sur deux lignes de crête.
la mise en place d’une passerelle suspendue au-dessus d’une ravine  plongeant dans la forêt, qui permet d’accéder aux plateformes d’observation de la faune et de la flore.

Deux parcours sont identifiés : le parcours rouge et le parcours jaune, plus petit. Des « points scénographiques » les ponctuent  sur certains des endroits-clés:

La « boule miroir » qui permet d’observer la canopée au moyen d’une demi-sphère inox avec miroir et sons.

Les « mires », permettant d’identifier l’objet de curiosité.

Plusieurs kiosques d’informations et de découvertes (thème de la terre, de la lumière et de l’ombre, des lianes, des épiphytes, du silence, des sélaginelles …) proposent au visiteur de s’assoir pour contempler, écouter (équipement sons).

Programme

Aménagement du Domaine d'Estripault (Parc Naturel Régional de la Martinique) : Étude de définition des équipements de découverte en forêt et des espaces d'animation, d'étude et de formation

Maître d'ouvrage

PNR de la Martinique

Équipe

CREATIME, Scénographe (Mandataire)
INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau, Urbaniste-paysagiste
DECALOG

Superficie

30 ha

Budget Études

50 000

Statut

Étude en cours