Heritage preservation in the development of the French quarter – Hanoï, Vietnam, 2007-2010

Hanoi’s old French Quarter is a historic district (1880-1940) containing the largest grouping of Indochinese heritage sites in southeast Asia. Whereas this 200 ha area, located in the heart of the Vietnamese capital, is subject to the pressures of a brutal and disorderly urban development, local concern about the disappearance of colonial villas is growing.

The aim of this study is to guide the approach of Vietnamese urban planners by proposing a methodology of analysis, an urban project and then a regulatory tool that will enable this strategic area to increase in density and thereby meet the new challenges of a booming Asian capital without erasing its historical aspect.

The project highlights and draws on the specificities of the district as so many «heritages» to be revealed: a draughtboard layout made up of wide avenues, an exceptional abundance of trees lining streets, an architectural heritage expressed in an array of colonial buildings of various kinds: monuments, civic, cultural or religious buildings, commercial and residential buildings.

It emphasises the district’s historical legibility and its position as an interface with other key areas of the capital: the traditional neighbourhood of the 36 streets, Hoan Kiem Lake, the station district, the southern extensions, the dyke road and the Red River.

Its purpose is to imagine a densification around the villas and buildings, to be preserved but also to develop green channels, drawing on the exceptional plant heritage already existing, so as to mitigate the effects of a development process which tends to suffocate the capital.

Program

Master plan for the development of the old French quarter of Hanoï, taking through heritage preservation into account

Client

Région Ile de France

Delegated client

Institut des Métiers de la Ville de HanoÏ
(Cooperation Center for urban Development)

Team

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape architect & urbanist
Christine Larousse - Urbanist

Surface

200 ha

Study Budget

111 000 €

Protection et développement du quartier français – Hanoï (Vietnam), 2007-2010

L’ancien quartier français de Hanoï est un quartier historique (1880 à 1940) abritant l’ensemble patrimonial indochinois le plus important d’Asie du sud-est. Alors que ce secteur de 200 ha, situé au cœur de la capitale vietnamienne, est soumis aux pressions d’un développement urbain brutal et désordonné, une prise de conscience locale s’inquiète de la disparition des villas coloniales.

Cette étude consiste à guider l’approche des urbanistes vietnamiens en proposant une méthodologie d’analyse, un projet urbain puis un outil réglementaire qui permettent à ce quartier stratégique de se densifier et de répondre ainsi aux nouveaux enjeux d’une capitale asiatique en pleine croissance, sans effacer son aspect historique.

Le projet relève et s’appuie sur les spécificités du quartier comme autant de « patrimoines » à révéler : un tracé en damier composé de larges avenues, une exceptionnelle abondance d’arbres d’alignement, un patrimoine architectural déclinant une palette de constructions coloniales variées : monuments, bâtiments civils, culturels ou religieux, commerces, résidences.

Il valorise sa lisibilité historique et sa position d’interface avec les autres quartiers clefs de la capitale : le quartier traditionnel des 36 rues, le lac Hoan Kiem, le secteur de la gare, les extensions du sud, la route digue et le Fleuve rouge.

Il consiste à imaginer une densification autour des villas et monuments à préserver mais aussi à développer des axes verts, s’appuyant sur l’exceptionnel patrimoine végétal existant, pour atténuer les effets d’un développement qui tend à asphyxier la capitale.

Programme

Plan directeur de développement de l’ancien quartier français de Hanoï prenant en compte une préservation du patrimoine architectural, urbain et paysagé

Maître d'ouvrage

Région Ile de France

Maître d'ouvrage délégué

Institut des Métiers de la Ville de Hanoï

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Paysagiste-Urbaniste (Mandataire)
Christine Larousse - Urbaniste

Superficie

200 ha

Budget Études

111 000 €