Paris Seine Rive Gauche district – Paris, 1990-2004

Along the Seine, 2.7 km east of the capital, the development of the Masséna district is taking place in context of the Paris Left Bank project, a vast restructuring plan for the thirteenth arrondissement. The site is marked by the presence of the Paris mills, the “Grands Moulins de Paris”, and railroad tracks to be reclaimed and redeveloped.

The purpose of the consultation was to seek urban quality in an area up to then qualified as peripheral, by taking an inventive approach based on the theme of «fabric in the dense city». Proposals for the site plan, volumes, and the breakdown of the blocks and public spaces notably had to allow for the construction of over 1,000 housing units, a university and 3 ha of public gardens.

The team then came up with the principle of the «urban hedgerow» (bocage urbain), an innovative approach that sought to reconcile the requirement for high densities with the creation of a wide variety of spaces. It was then a question of providing landscaping responses based on the concept of C. de Portzamparc’s open block that would introduce a new type of relationship between public and private spaces. This challenges the traditional principle of shared space and favours the interaction of free spaces with different statuses; in particular it enables the street to benefit from the vegetation of private gardens and brings light into the blocks.

Thus the « urban hedgerow» is conceived of as a space of double exposure, going from street to street, through the blocks: «the perceived garden covers both the public space and the private space». Inspired by the gardens of paradise, this urban landscape emphasises the place of plants in the city, in keeping with the desire for nature that characterises our age of widespread and intensive urbanisation. It induces specific choices of plants adapted to the space whose expansion we control (size, shape, nature) and whose textures, smells and tastes we emphasise to the maximum.

Program

Competition-wining project for the redevelopment of the Masséna district : overall design and landscaping of public spaces

Client

Ville de Paris

Delegated client

SEMAPA

Team

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Urbanist & Landscape architect
C. de PORTZAMPARC - Architect

Surface

13 ha

Landscape Budget

285 607 €

Quartier Paris Seine Rive Gauche – Paris (75), 1990-2004

Longeant la Seine sur 2.7 km à l’est de la capitale, l’aménagement du quartier Masséna prend place dans le projet Paris Rive gauche, vaste plan de restructuration du XIIIe arrondissement. Le site est marqué par la présence des Grands Moulins de Paris et par l’emprise des voies de chemin de fer à reconquérir et à recouvrir.

L’objet de la consultation était de rechercher une qualité urbaine dans un secteur jusque là qualifié de périphérique, selon une démarche inventive, sur le thème du « tissu dans la ville dense ».  Les propositions sur le tracé, les volumétries, le découpage des îlots et les espaces publics devaient notamment permettre la construction de plus de 1000 logements, un pôle universitaire et 3 ha de jardins publics.

L’équipe propose alors le principe de « bocage urbain », une approche innovante visant à concilier l’exigence de fortes densités avec la création d’une grande diversité d’espaces. Il s’agit alors d’apporter des réponses paysagères autour du concept de l’îlot ouvert de C. de Portzamparc, permettant d’introduire un nouveau type de relation entre espaces publics et espaces privés. Il remet en cause le principe de mitoyenneté traditionnelle et favorise l’interaction des espaces libres de statuts différents ; il fait notamment profiter la rue de la végétation des jardins privés et fait pénétrer la lumière à l’intérieur des îlots.

Ainsi le « bocage urbain » est pensé comme un espace traversant, de rue à rue, à travers les îlots : «  le jardin perçu englobe à la fois l’espace public et l’espace privé ». S’inspirant des jardins de paradis, ce paysage urbain revalorise les plantes en ville, en correspondance avec le désir de nature caractérisant notre époque d’urbanisation généralisée et intensive. Il induit des choix spécifiques de végétaux adaptés à l’espace dont on maîtrise l’expansion (taille, forme, nature) et dont on valorise au maximum les textures, les odeurs et les saveurs.

Programme

Projet lauréat du concours pour l’aménagement du quartier Masséna : conception d’ensemble et paysage des espaces publics

Maître d'ouvrage

Ville de Paris

Maître d'ouvrage délégué

SEMAPA

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Urbaniste-paysagiste
C. de PORTZAMPARC – Architecte (Mandataire)

Superficie

13 ha

Budget Travaux Paysage

285 607 €