Conversion of the LRBA site – Vernon (27), 2012-2013

In July 2008, the Ministry of Defence announced the LRBA site would close in 2012. Created in 1946, this military site dedicated to ballistic and aerodynamic research is currently undergoing an urban renewal study. The study aims to take advantage of the site’s characteristics: its location on a wooded promontory on Vernon’s landscaped river banks, direct proximity to the Seine, a 340-ha plateau, good quality existing buildings and facilities. But there are also many environmental, planning and land-use constraints to be taken into account (SEVESO area, power lines, protected woodland, quarries, etc.). This initial assessment gives rise to four general orientations.

– Restructuring the plateau around a vast central clearing
A large central clearing lies at the centre of the plateau and radiates throughout the site. This so-called “space plateau” takes on its full meaning here, orchestrating landscape around it: the historic Brandt building of the future university area to the west, the mess-hotel to the east, the residential area to the south and the sports area to the north. This space can be seen in different ways in different programmes.
– 1 – A multifunctional meadow, a place for strolling, games, activities, etc.
– 2 – The central clearing becomes a compact and environmentally friendly 9-hole golf course. The principle of a large open clearing is maintained opposite the entrance of the future university zone, for an area of about 3 hectares.

Enhancing the built heritage
All along the circular driveway, the quality of the buildings and surrounding forested areas, which lie close to the golf course but are not in direct contact with the business zone, make for interesting plots. Their surface (1000 m² on average) leaves potential for densification that will double their capacity while maintaining the wooded landscape mood of the gardens (extensions attached to the rear corners of the pavilions).

A light recreational programme
The aim here is to enhance the site as a nature destination through a light accommodation programme of the wooden cabin type, which would be located in the preserved woodlands closer to the urbanised area offering an exceptional vantage point for views of the zoo.

A site with new momentum
While these different areas of the plateau focus on different functions (commercial, education, nature tourism, business tourism, sports, leisure, cultural events) they play off their complementarity. It is the combination of these uses that will inject new life into the plateau.

Program

Feasibility study for the conversion of the LRBA site in Vernon

Client

Établissement Public Foncier de Normandie

Team

APS Architect (mandataire)
INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape Architect & Urbanist

Surface

340 ha

Study Budget

70 000 € HT

Status

Realized study

Reconversion du site du LRBA – Vernon (27), 2012-2013

En juillet 2008, le Ministère de la Défense annonçait la fermeture du site du LRBA en 2012. Créé en 1946, ce site militaire dédié à la recherche balistique et aérodynamique fait aujourd’hui l’objet d’une étude de reconversion urbaine. L’étude vise à tirer partie des caractéristiques du site : une situation de promontoire boisé sur la rive paysagée de Vernon, une proximité directe avec la Seine, un plateau de 340 ha, des bâtiments existants de qualité et des équipements.  Mais aussi de nombreuses contraintes environnementales, d’urbanisme et foncières à prendre en compte (zone SEVESO, ligne HT, EBC, carrières, …).

Un constat qui préfigure 4 orientations générales .

Restructurer le plateau autour d’une vaste clairière centrale

Le plateau est composé autour d’une vaste clairière centrale qui rayonne sur l’ensemble du site. Le « plateau de l’espace » prend ici tout son sens : il met en scène le bâtiment historique Brandt de la future zone universitaire à l’ouest, le mess-hôtel à l’est, la zone résidentielle au sud et l’espace sportif au nord. Cet espace peut s’envisager différemment suivant les programmes.
– 1 – Une prairie multifonctionnelle ; un lieu de déambulation, de jeux, d’activités,…
– 2 – cette clairière centrale devient un éco-golf compact 9 trous. Le principe d’une grande clairière ouverte est maintenue face à l’entrée de la future zone universitaire, sur une surface d’environ 3 ha.

Valoriser le patrimoine bâti

Le long de l’allée circulaire, la qualité du bâti et celle de son environnement boisé, près du golf mais sans contact direct avec la zone tertiaire, en font des parcelles intéressantes. Leur surface (1000 m² en moyenne) permet une densification qui double leur capacité tout en conservant l’ambiance paysagère boisée des jardins (extensions attachés aux angles arrière des pavillons).

Un programme léger de loisirs

Il s’agit de renforcer la destination nature du site par un programme d’hébergements légers types cabanes en bois, qui prendrait place au sein des boisements conservés, au plus près de la zone urbanisée et en poste d’observation privilégié sur le parc animalier.

Un site mis en dynamique

Ces différents espaces du plateau, s’ils répondent à des usages différents (tertiaire, enseignement, tourisme-nature, tourisme d’affaire, sports, loisirs, évènements culturels..) jouent la complémentarité. C’est la combinaison de ces usages qui assurera une nouvelle vie au plateau.

Programme

Étude de faisabilité pour la reconversion du site du LRBA à Vernon

Maître d'ouvrage

Établissement Public Foncier de Normandie

Équipe

APS Architectes (mandataire)
INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Urbaniste Paysagiste

Superficie

340 ha

Budget Études

70 000 € HT

Statut

Étude achevée