Redevelopment of a Napoleonic Barracks – Vernon, 2005-2013

The restructuring of a brownfield such as the Fieschi barracks in Vernon offers the city exceptional opportunities for development. This former military zone, whose surface is equivalent to that of the city centre, forms a crossroads between several major axes, of historical and geographical influence: the RN 15 national trunk road, the railway lines, Bizy avenue and the Seine.

In a context that is both rich and restricted in, the aim of the project is to turn the future Fieschi district towards the Seine and open it up to the nearby centre of Vernon. It structures the landscape of Vernon by restoring landmarks, articulated around a unifying axis overriding the entire composition. Amenities (the Capuchin school and convent) and shops punctuate the central promenade of the Ramblas, the neighbourhood’s major thoroughfare.

Taking into account the conservation of a number of barracks buildings (the military headquarters, the parade yard constructions, part of the Capuchin convent), the urbanism project is fully in keeping with the history of the classical park systems that founded urban landscaping.

Wide avenues, structuring trees, harmony of perspectives, squares, plots serving as green rooms, pools, fountains and changes in altitude create the spirit of the place and layout of the space.

In parallel, many variations accompany and reinforce the system: free or natural gardens, Anglo-Norman or enclosed Norman gardens enhance the roads and neighbourhoods and contribute to the diversity of the district.

Program

Upgrading of an abandoned military site into a residential neighbourhood with shops and public gardens.
- Architecture, landscaping and urban master plan mission.
- Project management for the development of the first tranche of works

Client

Communauté d’agglomération des Portes de l’Eure (CAPE)

Delegated client

Eure Aménagement Développement : EAD

Team

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Landscape Architect & Urbanist - Master Planner
ARCHICOP - Architect, Urbanist
SODEREF - BET

Surface

20 ha

Reconversion d’une Caserne Napoléonienne – Vernon (27), 2005-2015

La restructuration d’une friche comme celle de la caserne Fieschi, à Vernon, offre à la ville des possibilités d’évolution exceptionnelle. Cette ancienne emprise militaire, dont la surface est équivalente à celle du centre-ville, se trouve à la croisée de plusieurs axes forts, historiques et géographiques : la RN 15, les voies SNCF, le mail de Bizy et la Seine.

Dans ce contexte à la fois riche et enclavé, le projet consiste à tourner le futur quartier Fieschi vers la Seine et à l’ouvrir vers le centre ville de Vernon, tout proche.

Il structure le paysage de Vernon en lui redonnant des repères, articulés autour d’un axe fédérateur régissant l’ensemble de la composition. Les équipements (école et couvent des Capucins) ainsi que les commerces ponctuent la promenade centrale des Ramblas, le grand axe du quartier.
S’appuyant sur la conservation d’un ensemble de bâtiments de la caserne (l’état Major, les constructions de la cour d’honneur, une partie du couvent des Capucins), l’urbanisme proposé s’inscrit dans le droit fil de l’histoire des systèmes de parcs classiques fondateurs d’un urbanisme paysager.

Larges avenues, arbres structurants, harmonie des perspectives, places, placettes comme des chambres de verdure, bassins, jeux d’eau et dénivelé conditionnent l’esprit du lieu et aménagent l’espace.

En parallèle de nombreuses déclinaisons accompagnent et renforcent le système : jardins libres ou naturalistes, anglo normand ou clos normands enrichissent les axes et les quartiers et participent à la diversité du quartier.

Programme

Requalification d'une friche militaire en quartier résidentiel, pôle de commerces et jardins publics (dans le cadre d’une AEU) :
- mission de conception et de suivi .
- mission de maîtrise d’œuvre pour l’aménagement des espaces publics

Maître d'ouvrage

Communauté d’agglomération des Portes de l’Eure (CAPE)

Maître d'ouvrage délégué

Eure Aménagement Développement : EAD

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Paysagiste, Urbaniste
ARCHICOP - Architecte, Urbaniste
SODEREF - BET

Superficie

20 ha