Restructuring of the Place Mésirard and its surroundings – Dreux (28), 2001-2005

The redevelopment of the Place Mésirard is the result of five years of environmental and landscape studies, supplemented by traffic and cultural positioning studies.
With room available for a 400-space underground car park to replace an open-air car park air, a plan was proposed for a seven-floor underground car park wound around a central well of light and plants, in the heart of the Place Mésirard. This was the beginning of the process of creating the Place.

The infrastructure spread over the Place took this enhancement into account: the views of the Royal Chapel, the Belfry, the rediscovery of the Blaise river, the optimisation of surfaces and the concern with branching out these projects to the rest of the district, treating squares, plots, streets and alleys in a simple and coherent fashion.

This project, which is closely linked to the historical context, is set in the heart of a remarkable fabric and symbolises its revival and prosperity. It is based on the development of a decorative motif inspired by the constructive thinking of Philibert de l’Orme, the crowning feature of the Anet chapel, a few kilometres from Dreux. By projecting one of the famous geometric patterns on the ground, using the gap left by the centre of the car park as the centre of the composition, the idea is to draw the visitor upwards, into the heart of a moving, rustling, enveloping reassuring and refreshing arrangement of plants, softening the idea of the oppressive city.

Thus, the development created in Dreux seeks to draw attention to a cross-disciplinary vision of landscape, architecture and urbanism that respects this cultural heritage and cares for its harmonious development.

Program

Redevelopment of 34,000 m² of public space in the town centre of Dreux

Client

Commune de DREUX

Team

INTERSCENE - Landscape architect & urbanist (Mandataire)
SODEREF – BET
Agence QUADRA – Light designer

Surface

3,40 ha

Status

Realized project

Requalification du centre-ville – Dreux (28), 2001-2005

L’aménagement de la place Mésirard est le résultat de cinq années d’études environnementales et paysagères, complétées d’études de circulation et de positionnement culturel.

La capacité d’enfouir un parking de 400 places en lieu et place d’un parc de stationnement aérien a permis de proposer un parking sur sept étages souterrain enroulés autour d’un puits de lumière et de plantes, au cœur de la place Mésirard. C’est le début du processus de création de la place.

Les infrastructures réparties sur la place ont pris en compte la valorisation, les vues sur la Chapelle royale, le Beffroi, la redécouverte de la Blaise, l’optimisation des surfaces et le souci de ramifier ces projets vers le reste du quartier, en traitant places, placettes, rues et venelles, sur un mode simple et cohérent.

Ce projet, intimement lié au contexte historique, au cœur d’un tissu remarquable symbolise son renouveau et son rayonnement ; il s’appuie sur le développement d’un motif décoratif inspiré de la pensée constructive de Philibert de l’Orme, joyau de la chapelle d’Anet, à quelques kilomètres de Dreux. En projetant au sol un des célèbres motifs géométriques, utilisant comme centre de composition le vide laissé par le centre du parking, l’idée consiste à aspirer le visiteur vers le haut, au cœur d’un dispositif de plantation mouvant, bruissant, enveloppant, rassurant, rafraîchissant, adoucissant l’idée même de la ville oppressante.

L’aménagement ainsi créé à Dreux vise à rappeler l’attention portée à une vision transversale entre paysage, urbanisme et architecture dans le respect de cet héritage culturel et dans le souci de son développement harmonieux.

Programme

Projet lauréat pour la requalification de 34 000 m² d’espaces publics en centre-ville de Dreux

Maître d'ouvrage

Commune de DREUX

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Urbaniste-paysagiste (Mandataire)
SODEREF - Bureau d'étude technique
Agence QUADRA - Mise en lumière

Superficie

3,40 ha

Statut

Projet réalisé