Serre tropicale de Pessac – Pessac (33), 2011

In 1999, the town of Pessac acquired a collection of 2,000 exotic plants, currently exposed in a tropical greenhouse on the site of Bourgailh. The town is pondering the future of this greenhouse in the medium-term.

While its botanical capital has genuine value, this amenity is currently under-exploited, whether scientifically, educationally and financially or in terms of tourism.

Beyond the future of the tropical greenhouse, it is also the site of Bourgailh as a whole that is in question. Situated to the west of Bordeaux, this large inter-urban zone of 500 ha, which hosts intercommunal amenities, is undergoing a study initiated by the Urban Community of Bordeaux and the towns of Pessac and Mérignac.

A multi-purpose landscaped urban complex comprising activities, habitat and recreation, and incorporating an Ecosite on an area of 170 ha, has been programmed for this site.

This would encompass public spaces (the open access forest walk located in the south/southeast of the site), a business area specialized in nature and environment, and an urban park (zoo and botanical garden), intended as both recreational and educational, and structural amenities for the city.

This natural tourist hub calls for reflection on the complementarity of the leisure facilities to be presented to the public. Unlike parks intended exclusively for tourists, the Bourgailh site must offer a range of services also adapted to local people and fulfill a role as a local and general interest amenity.

Program

Competition winner for a study on the use of the botanical heritage of Pessac’s tropical greenhouse

Client

City of Pessac

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Landscape Architect & Urbanist (mandataire)
F. Lenoble-Prédine - Ethnobotanist
PHYSALID - Greenhouse Engineering

Surface

1 000 m²

Study Budget

23 000 €

Status

Current study

Serre tropicale de Pessac – Pessac (33), 2011

La ville de Pessac a acquis en 1999 une collection de 2000 plantes exotiques, actuellement exposées dans la serre tropicale, sur le site du Bourgailh. La Ville s’interroge sur le devenir de cette serre à moyen terme.

Si son capital botanique offre un réél intérêt, cet équipement est actuellement sous exploité tant en termes scientifiques, pédagogiques,touristiques que financiers.

Au-delà du devenir de la serre tropicale, c’est aussi celui du site du Bourgailh dans son ensemble qui se pose. Située à  l’ouest de l’agglomération bordelaise, cette vaste zone interurbaine de 500 ha qui accueille des équipements intercommunaux, fait l’objet d’une réflexion engagée par la Communauté urbaine de Bordeaux (CIB) et les villes de Pessac et de Mérignac.

Un complexe urbain paysager à vocation multiple (activités, habitat et loisirs) intégrant un Ecosite sur un espace de 170 ha, est programmé sur ce lieu.

Celui-ci déclinerait des espaces publics (la forêt promenade en accès libre qui se situe dans la partie sud/sud est du site), une zone d’activités en relation avec la nature et l’environnement, et un parc urbain (parc animalier et végétal), à vocation ludique et pédagogique, équipement structurant pour l’agglomération.

Ce pôle naturel touristique invite à une réflexion sur la complémentarité des produits de loisirs qui seront présentés aux publics. A la différence des parcs à seule vocation touristique, le Bourgailh doit proposer une gamme de services adaptée aussi aux populations locales et ainsi remplir une vocation d’intérêt général de proximité.

Programme

Lauréat pour une étude sur l'utilisation du patrimoine botanique de la serre tropicale de Pessac

Maître d'ouvrage

Ville de Pessac

Équipe

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Urbaniste-paysagiste (mandataire)
F. Lenoble-Prédine - Ethnobotaniste
PHYSALID - Spécialiste des serres

Superficie

1 000 m²

Budget Études

23 000 €

Statut

Etude en cours