Taghazout resort – Taghazout, 2011-2015

The Société d’Aménagement et de Promotion de la Station de Taghazout has launched the planning and development project for an integrated tourist resort located in the rural municipality of Taghazout – Prefecture of Agadir-Ida-Outanan – under the name of “New Integrated Tourist Resort of Taghazout” (NITRT) on a 615-hectare site. The NITRT programme includes hotel units, residential units, entertainment and recreation facilities, public facilities, two golf courses, green spaces and an argan reserve.

In the context of this major project, Interscène will create the master plan that will define the overall landscaping template of the resort.

It must incorporate a landscape study and a list of landscape requirements to be applied to each plot to be entrusted to prospective developers (hotel and residential plots, village eco-resort, etc.). It will also set down specifications for the use of mineral elements, plants, water, street furniture, lighting, lighting and signage.

The orientation of the master plan draws inspiration from the magic scents and colours of Taghazout. However, exoticism will be limited because this is primarily an authentic and wild destination, as the prickly pears and coarse, hardy species growing there remind us, although without eliminating the poetry of the walled gardens and plant architectures. A place where “surfer tribes” will enjoy spending time in waterside cafés at sunset and in the little squares and interior streets after dark, and where, during the day, families will stroll in the shade of vine-covered “driftwood” pergolas, between traditional craft shops and contemporary art boutiques. The spirit of the place must dominate without extravagance and without falling into a sophisticated use of materials, thus emphasising the atmosphere of passageways leading to an interior garden or out onto the terraces.

Originality of an indigenous plant palette that identifies the station. Almond trees are introduced as a primary ornamental species, to complement the argania.

Atypical circulation design emphasising the visitor experience through the use of winding, sequenced paths, along with the integration of parking areas with right of access to the beach

Non-motorised circulation network, separated from roads and organised as a large walk exploring the natural environment

Proposal for a public coastal walk, along wooden decking and punctuated by dynamic relays such as kiosks, information points, beach cafés, etc.

Integration of the tees, fairways and greens of the golf course into the existing landscape through careful stratification and arrangement of plant varieties in relation to their aspect (soft/prickly) to ensure the local landscape is respected

A choice of functional and original leisure furniture produced by local craftsmen, such as argan benches or surf panels…

By night, the chromatic illumination of vegetation by species and the lighting of the pedestrian paths. The dramatic affect is also heightened through the illumination of the wider landscape (hills) and outstanding plant specimens.

The Landscape Charter defines the landscaping requirements that private plots will have to conform to. This harmonisation in the treatment of each lot will ensure a homogeneous image is preserved for the resort and also reinforces the idea of integration.

Program

Project management for the development of the Taghazout tourist resort (SAPST Taghazout)

Client

SAPST

Delegated client

ALMOD

Team

INTERSCENE – Thierry Huau - Landscape architect & Urbanist
WATG - KILO - Architectes cotraitants

Surface

600 ha

Global Budget

85 millions MAD

Station touristique de Taghazout (Maroc), 2011-2015

La Société d’Aménagement et de Promotion de la Station de Taghazout lance le projet d’aménagement et de développement d’une station touristique intégrée située dans la Commune Rurale de Taghazout – Préfecture d’Agadir Ida-Outanan- dénommée « Nouvelle Station Touristique Intégrée de Taghazout (NSTIT) » sur un terrain d’une superficie de 615 hectares. Le programme de la NSTIT se compose d’unités hôtelières, d’unités résidentielles, d’équipements d’animation et de loisirs, d’équipements publics, de deux parcours de Golf, d’espaces verts et d’une réserve d’arganiers.

Dans le cadre de ce grand projet, il s’agit pour Interscène de réaliser le schéma directeur qui définira l’image paysagère globale de la station.

Il doit intégrer une étude paysagère et un cahier des prescriptions paysagères imposables à chacune des parcelles devant être confiées aux futurs développeurs (parcelles hôtelières et résidentielles, Village éco-resort …). Il précise aussi l’aménagement minéral, végétal, aquatique, le mobilier urbain, l’éclairage, la mise en lumière et la signalétique….

Les orientations du schéma directeur s’appuient sur la magie des parfums et des couleurs de Taghazout. L’exotisme sera toutefois limité car c’est une destination avant tout authentique et sauvage à l’image des figuiers de barbarie et des essences rudes et résistantes ce qui n’empêche pas la poésie des jardins clos et des architectures végétales. Un lieu où les « tribus de surfeurs » auront plaisir à se retrouver dans les cafés de bord d’eau au soleil couchant puis dans les placettes et ruelles intérieures, à la nuit tombée et où en pleine journée. Les familles déambuleront à l’ombre des pergolas de « bois flottés » recouvertes de lianes, entre boutiques artisanales traditionnelles et boutiques d’Art contemporain. L’esprit du lieu doit dominer sans extravagance et sans tomber dans une sophistication des matériaux, privilégiant l’ambiance des échappées vers un jardin intérieur ou vers les terrasses.

Originalité d’une palette végétale autochtone et à caractère identitaire pour la Station. L’amandier est introduit comme espèce ornementale phare, en complément des arganiers.

Schéma de circulation viaire atypique en favorisant l’expérience visiteur par des tracés sinueux et séquencés, avec intégration des aires de stationnements au droit des accès plage.

Schéma des circulations douces, dissociées des voiries et organisées comme une grande promenade à la découverte du milieu naturel

Proposition pour une promenade littorale publique, conduite par un grand platelage bois et animée de relais événementiels comme les kiosques, les points infos, les cafés de plage…

L’intégration des Tees/Fairways et Green du golf dans le paysage existant par un travail sur la stratification des espèces et sur leur physionomie (douce/piquante/poussante) garantissant le respect du paysage local.

Un choix de mobilier fonctionnel et d’agrément original, issus de l’artisanat local, comme les bancs ‘arganier’ ou les panneaux surf…

Une approche de nuit par une mise en lumière chromatique de la végétation selon les essences et un balisage nocturne des liaisons douces. La théâtralisation se manifeste également par la mise en lumière du Grand Paysage (coteaux) et des sujets remarquables.

La Charte paysagère définit les contraintes paysagères que les parcelles privées devront anticiper dans leurs aménagements. Cette harmonisation dans le traitement de chaque lot garantira une image homogène à la station et renforce l’idée d’intégration.

Programme

Mission de maîtrise d’œuvre pour l’aménagement de la station touristique de Taghazout (SAPST Taghazout)

Maître d'ouvrage

SAPST

Maître d'ouvrage délégué

ALMOD

Équipe

INTERSCENE - Thierry Huau - Urbaniste-paysagiste
Architectes cotraitants : WATG - KILO
BET - NOVEC

Superficie

600 ha

Budget Travaux Global

85 millions MAD